MillionaireMatch

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'Unchanging' lyrics - all feedback welcome

Hi, I am new to writing lyrics, and would appreciate some feedback on whether they are any good.

The lyrics are:

Verse 1
    Once more my lover and you said oh baby,
    Once more we're bridging too far,
    I thought that loving was easy baby,
    Keep my feelings locked in a jar.

Coming again and I'm easy baby,
    Coming again and I'm done,
    Pulling it out and slipping it off,
    Forget what it was I came from.

Verse 2
    Face leaving traces of shadows in darkness,
    Feelings I had left behind,
    Moving to make it I shift it and shake it,
    Get myself hung up on a bind.

Pulling together is pulling apart,
    These feelings I had from the start,
    Getting along is getting us nowhere,
    I sit and wait alone in the dark.

Many thanks for any comments.

I don't get who the third person is and what exactly her/his role is supposed to be (maybe a threesome?). Is it needed? I wouldn't think so.

There are a few exceptionally fine phrases, my favorites are "Pulling together is pulling apart", and "Getting along is getting us nowhere".

As to the music - note that I'm very old and conservative if it comes to music, and I'm a quite lousy musician myself - I think the intro is too long and the tune has got a bit samey. It's not easy to make exciting songs in an AAAA scheme, i.e. songs with neither chorus nor bridge.

Comment

Many thanks for the reply texter-bernd. I don't know exactly who the third person is either, or whether they are needed, but if they are not, then most of the lyrics become redundant and I would have to re-write them... I've kind of talked myself into needing that third person now... whoever they are!